Fast, Experienced Help for Child Molestation Charges
If you are facing an Orange County, CA child molesting charge, or you think you might be charged or are being “set up” by someone who wants you to apologize for past conduct, please call me, attorney Scott R. Cadzow, immediately. I’m a top Orange County criminal defense lawyer with 25 years of experience successfully defending child molestation charges, and I can help you.
I have been very successful in getting charges reduced or dropped, and getting sentences suspended or reduced. I defend all types of child sex crimes, including lewd acts upon a child, child molestation, child pornography possession, sexual battery, and statutory rape.
Child Molestation is a Felony in California
California child molestation offenses are charged under California Penal Code Sections 288(a) and 288.5(a). Penal Code Section 288(a) provides that “any person who commits a lewd or lascivious act on a child under the age of 14 is guilty of a felony punishable in the state prison for 3 to 8 years.” Each act of child molestation counts as one charge.
A person who commits more than three acts of sexual misconduct with a child under the age of 14 is guilty of a felony which carries 6 to 16 years in prison. If the child was under 10 years of age, certain sexual contact between the defendant and child can be punished more severely under Penal Code section 288.7: sexual intercourse or sodomy by 25 years to life in prison, and oral sex or penetration with a foreign object by 15 years to life. If the child was 14 or 15 and the defendant was at least 10 years older, conviction carries up to 3 years in prison.
The punishment for any act of child molestation includes lifetime registration as sex offender, which means the defendant’s address and sex offender status will be publicly available online.
Defenses to CA Child Molestation Charges
Although the penalties for child molestation are high, false claims of child molesting are very common. Children are very impressionable and can be confused and misled by persons such as an angry ex-spouse or a overly zealous prosecutor. An investigation can show that the child misconstrued playful tickling, kissing, or other non-sexual touching as molestation; it may even show that the child was not touched at all.
When you retain me to defend you against child molesting charges, I will:
- Gather all of the evidence supporting you,
- Locate and interview witnesses,
- Explore all possible legal defenses (including innocence), and
- Keep you fully informed and advised at all times.
I will also:
- Call upon highly qualified and respected experts who can testify on your behalf in cases where psychological counseling could be helpful,
- Negotiate with the prosecutor for reduced or dropped charges
- Negotiate with the prosecutor for a lesser sentence or alternative sentence, such as house arrest, electronic monitoring, and/or counseling.
- Provide you with the best criminal defense at every stage of the proceedings, including trial.
Call Attorney Cadzow for Top Orange County Child Molestation Defense
Because the penalties for child molestation are so severe, contact a highly skilled and experienced California sex crimes defense attorney as soon as possible after you are charged. I am attorney Scott R. Cadzow, and I have over 25 years of experience defending clients accused of child molestation, lewd behavior with a child, child pornography, and other related crimes in Orange County and throughout Southern California. I have negotiated many child molestation plea bargains that have resulted in reduced time, jail time, and even the dismissal of serious charges against my clients.
Available 24/7, Free Consultation, Reasonable Fees, Credit Cards Accepted
If you or a family member has been charged with child molestation, please contact me, attorney Scott R. Cadzow, for a knowledgeable, careful, and concerned defense. I can meet with you at my Newport Beach attorney office in Orange County or my office in Vista, whichever is closer to you. I offer reasonable fees and accept credit cards.
Your case is important to me. I offer a free consultation and am available 24/7. I will respond quickly.
For Fast Help with Child Molestation Charges, Call: (949) 697-5278